JURIST Supported by the University of Pittsburgh

Today in legal history...

Tuesday, March 19, 2013

US Congress established standard time zones
Zachariah Rivenbark at 12:00 AM ET

On March 19, 1918, the US Congress passed the Standard Time Act, which divided the continental US and Alaska into five time zones. Congress delegated authority to the International Commerce Commission (ICC) to define the boundaries of these time zones for the benefit of interstate commerce carriers. Prior to the act, the railroads had defined time zones for more efficient interstate travel. The act also established daylight savings time in a provision that was repealed in 1919. Congress reestablished daylight savings time in 1942 for the duration of World War II, and later made the measure permanent with the Uniform Time Act of 1966.

Learn more about interstate commerce from the JURIST news archive.

Link post | IM post | go to JURIST | © JURIST, 2013


 20th Amendment to the US Constitution ratified
February 6, 2016

 First international arbitration court founded
February 6, 2016

 click for more...


Add This Day at Law to your RSS reader or personalized portal:
  • Add to Google
  • Add to My Yahoo!
  • Subscribe with Bloglines
  • Add to My AOL


Subscribe to This Day at Law alerts via R|mail. Enter your e-mail address below. After subscribing and being returned to this page, please check your e-mail for a confirmation message.
MyBlogAlerts also e-mails alerts of new This Day at Law entries. It's free and fast, but ad-based.


This Day at Law welcomes reader comments, tips, URLs, updates and corrections. E-mail us at archives@jurist.org