McDonald's facing lawsuits over disclosed allergens in french fries

[JURIST] McDonald's [corporate website] is facing multiple legal actions after the fast-food giant admitted last week that milk and wheat ingredients are used to flavor its trademark french fries. Lawsuits in Illinois, California and Florida have been filed by two people claiming intolerance to gluten, a protein found in wheat, and by a vegetarian who claims she would not have eaten the fries if she had known they contained dairy products. McDonald's had previously said its fries contained no milk or wheat allergens and were safe for the growing number of people with related dietary restrictions, including thousands of children affected by autism [dietary treatment backgrounder].

Earlier this month, however, the company added information about milk, wheat and gluten in french fries on its food allergens and sensitivities listing in accordance with new US Food and Drug Administration regulations [press release; FDA materials] that require food manufacturers to list food allergens on product labels. As a restaurant, McDonald's is complying with the rules voluntarily. AP has more.

 

About Paper Chase

Paper Chase is JURIST's real-time legal news service, powered by a team of 30 law student reporters and editors led by law professor Bernard Hibbitts at the University of Pittsburgh School of Law. As an educational service, Paper Chase is dedicated to presenting important legal news and materials rapidly, objectively and intelligibly in an accessible format.

© Copyright JURIST Legal News and Research Services, Inc., 2013.